History of Riddlesworth Hall
Riddlesworth Hall was designed by architect Thomas Leverton as a Georgian style three-storey house in 1792 where it was acquired by Silvanus Bevan III.
It later became the seat of the Compton-Thornhill baronets, including Sir Thomas Thornhill, 1st Baronet (1837-1900) and Sir Anthony John Compton-Thornhill, 2nd Baronet (1868–1949). The second baronet had no heirs and the hall was converted for use as a school in 1946.
Riddlesworth Hall School was established as a predominantly girls’ school but now caters to both boys and girls aged 3 to 13.
During the years, Riddlesworth Hall has nurtured and educated many children, with notable former pupils including Diana, Princess of Wales and world famous designer Lulu Guinness.
In October 2015 it was announced that Riddlesworth joined the Confucius International Education Group, which runs several international schools in China. Riddlesworth was rebranded Confucius International School-Riddlesworth Hall (CISRH) as a result has grown from strength-to-strength. Located in the picturesque Norfolk parish of Riddlesworth, the school provides a safe, stimulating and enchanting environment for our pupils who benefit from our 35 acre estate.
Our mission is to develop thoughtful, adventurous and academically ambitious young people who are life-long learners. We aim to prepare them with the character and skills to succeed in the ever-changing world after school. Our pupils have the freedom to experience, explore and enquire about the world around them. We aim to encourage independence and tolerance in a safe, caring community and magnificent natural environment.